Skip to main content

Culinary stations

  • Stage Husarenquartier
    Herbert Brockel *
  • Schwarz Das Restaurant
    Manfred Schwarz *
  • Restaurant Schwarzwaldstube
    Harald Wohlfahrt ***
  • Restaurant L' Arnsbourg
    Jean-Georges Klein ***
  • Stiller's Restaurant and Cooking School
    Stefan Stiller **
  • Restaurant ABAC
    Jordi Cruz **
  • Victors Gourmetrestaurant
    Schloss Berg, Christian Bau ***
  • Restaurant Dieter Müller
    MS Europa
  • Restaurant OPUS V **
    Tristan Brandt
  • Managing Director engelhorn Gastro GmbH
    OPUS V, Le Corange, Faces Lounge, Dachgarten, Vinothek Coq au Vin

Vita

Tristan Brandt discovered his passion for cooking very early on. At first he watched his mother enthusiastically and was allowed to help from time to time. At the age of 12 he already cooked a 3-course-menu for her birthday. And at the latest after his first practical training in a kitchen his way was marked out.

The following timeline documents his professional career from Tristan Brandt's own perspective.

Land & Golfhotel Stromberg

Traineeship with Michael Stortz

August 2001 to July 2004

Michael Stortz is largely responsible the path I took in my life. After an excellent apprenticeship he immediately brought me to star gastronomy and in 2004 he introduced me to Manfred Schwarz in Heidelberg. Even today, I am very grateful for this and I am still in close contact with him.

Schwarz Das Restaurant

Entry into star gastronomy

August 2004 to December 2005

My first station in the star gastronomy was with Manfred Schwarz in Schwarz Das Restaurant in Heidelberg. Working in star gastronomy directly after my training was something very special for me, of course. After one and a half years in which I was challenged but also encouraged, I asked him where my trip could go and he recommended me to the 3 star chef Harald Wohlfahrt in the Black Forest to change.

Restaurant Schwarzwaldstube

3 star gastronomy with Harald Wohlfahrt

October 2006 to September 2008

I got Harald Wohlfahrt´s trust from the beginning and was responsible for the cooking of the meat. It was a real challenge to use a cooking point needle to determine the cooking levels that the guests had ordered and to prepare the meat perfectly. After two years I felt the desire to gain experience abroad. Harald Wohlfahrt recommended me the restaurant L' Arnsbourg with 3 star chef Jean-Georges Klein in Baerenthal in Alsace.

Restaurant L' Arnsbourg

First international experience in a 3 star restaurant

October 2008 to January 2010

Being able to speak German abroad was the ideal way for me to get closer to French cuisine. Jean-Georges Klein in the 3-star L'Arnsbourg restaurant in Alsace put me in charge of the fish post, for which I had the sole responsibility just two weeks after the start. A new challenge for me: to get along with three French chefs under my command as head of the post. ;)

Stiller's Restaurant and Cooking school

Chinese cuisine and culture

February to June 2010

Via the social network Xing I received an inquiry from Stefan Stiller from Shanghai, who now has 2 stars. No, that´s no joke and so I had the opportunity to get to know a metropolis in the Far East. Although I only worked in Stiller's Restaurant as a sous chef for half a year, living and working in the Far East was an extraordinary experience for me. I was particularly impressed by the variety of products the markets had to offer and the Chinese way of working.

Victors Gourmetrestaurant

Sous chef at the restaurant of 3 star chef Christian Bau

July 2010 to August 2012

To receive a request as sous chef from a successful 3 star chef with 25 years of experience was a great thing for me. Reason enough to move from Shanghai to the Saarland. After more than 2 years of positive experience in "Victors Gourmetrestaurant" as deputy chef it was time to finish my years of training with an apprenticeship as a master chef.

Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

Master chef in three months

September to December 2012

My time in Heidelberg was very learning intensive. To gain the maximum knowledge in a short time was a big challenge, which I had not experienced since my school days. What can I say: it worked. After three months I was a master chef.

Restaurant Dieter Müller, MS Europa

Culinary journey around the world by cruise boat

January 2013 to July 2013

As a cook you always have the dream to work on a ship. And when Dieter Müller as a 3 star chef asks to represent him on the MS Europa, you don't think twice and seize the opportunity to work at the highest level and explore the world.

Restaurant OPUS V

engelhorn Mode im Quadrat

August 2013 until June 2020

After eight years in the 3 star gastronomy Harald Wohlfahrt recommended me to the managing director Richard Engelhorn, engelhorn - Mode im Quadrat from Mannheim, who offered me to design the restaurant of the future, according to my personal ideas and wishes. We were inspired by the Noma restaurant in Copenhagen, which was named the best restaurant in the world for three consecutive years. We opened the OPUS V on 22 November 2013. Just one year after the opening, in November 2014, we received the first Michelin star and 16 points in the Gault Millaut. Two years later we received the second star and 18 points in the Gault Millaut.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Kulinarische Stationen

  • Stage Husarenquartier
    Herbert Brockel *
  • Schwarz Das Restaurant
    Manfred Schwarz *
  • Restaurant Schwarzwaldstube
    Harald Wohlfahrt ***
  • Restaurant L' Arnsbourg
    Jean-Georges Klein ***
  • Stiller's Restaurant and Cooking School
    Stefan Stiller **
  • Restaurant ABAC
    Jordi Cruz **
  • Victors Gourmetrestaurant
    Schloss Berg, Christian Bau ***
  • Restaurant Dieter Müller
    MS Europa
  • Restaurant OPUS V **
    Tristan Brandt
  • Geschäftsführer engelhorn Gastro GmbH
    OPUS V, Le Corange, Faces Lounge, Dachgarten, Vinothek Coq au Vin

Vita

Tristan Brandt entdeckte schon sehr früh seine Leidenschaft fürs Kochen. Zunächst schaute er seiner Mutter begeistert zu und durfte ab und zu mithelfen. Bereits mit 12 Jahren kochte er ihr zum Geburtstag ein 3-Gänge-Menü. Und spätestens nach seinem ersten Praktikum in einer Küche war sein Weg vorgezeichnet.

Die nachfolgende Zeitleiste dokumentiert aus Tristan Brandts eigener Perspektive seinen beruflichen Werdegang.

Land & Golfhotel Stromberg

Ausbildung bei Michael Stortz

August 2001 bis Juli 2004

Michael Stortz ist maßgeblich verantwortlich für meinen weiteren Lebensweg. Er hat mich direkt nach einer hervorragenden Ausbildung bei ihm zur Sternegastronomie gebracht und mich 2004 Manfred Schwarz in Heidelberg vermittelt. Noch heute bin ich ihm sehr dankbar dafür und stehe nach wie vor in engem Austausch mit ihm.

Schwarz Das Restaurant

Einstieg in die Sternegastronomie

August 2004 bis Dezember 2005

Meine erste Station in der Sternegastronomie war bei Manfred Schwarz in Schwarz das Restaurant in Heidelberg. Das war natürlich was ganz besonderes für mich, direkt nach der Ausbildung in der Sternegastronomie zu arbeiten. Nach eineinhalb Jahren in denen ich gefordert aber auch gefördert wurde, fragte ich ihn wo meine Reise hingehen könnte und er empfahl mir zum 3 Sternekoch Harald Wohlfahrt in den Schwarzwald zu wechseln. 

Restaurant Schwarzwaldstube

3 Sternegastronomie bei Harald Wohlfahrt

Oktober 2006 bis September 2008

Von Harald Wohlfahrt erhielt ich von Beginn an das Vertrauen und war für das Garen des Fleisches zuständig. Das war eine echte Herausforderung, mit einer Garpunktnadel die Garstufen zu bestimmen, die die Gäste bestellt hatten und das Fleisch perfekt zuzubereiten. Nach zwei Jahren empfand ich den Wunsch Auslandserfahrung zu sammeln. Harald Wohlfahrt empfahl mir das Restaurant L' Arnsbourg bei 3 Sternekoch Jean-Georges Klein in Baerenthal im Elsass.

Restaurant L' Arnsbourg

Erste Auslandserfahrung in einer 3 Sterneküche

Oktober 2008 bis Januar 2010

Im Ausland und doch deutsch sprechen zu können, war für mich der ideale Einstieg der französischen Küche näher zu kommen. Jean-Georges Klein im 3 Sterne Genusstempel Restaurant L' Arnsbourg im Elsass setzte mich auf dem Fischposten ein, für den ich schon zwei Wochen nach Beginn der Alleinverantwortliche war. Eine neue Herausforderung für mich: als Postenchef mit drei mir unterstellten französischen Köchen klar zu kommen ;)

Stiller's Restaurant and Cooking school

Chinesische Küche und Kultur

Februar bis Juni 2010

Über das soziale Netzwerk Xing erhielt ich eine Anfrage von Stefan Stiller aus Shanghai, der mittlerweile 2 Sterne inne hat. Nein, es war tatsächlich kein Witz und schon hatte ich die Möglichkeit eine Weltstadt in Fernost kennenzulernen. Obwohl ich nur ein halbes Jahr in Stiller's Restaurant als Sous Chef arbeitete, war das Leben und Wirken in Fernost eine außergewöhnliche Erfahrung für mich. Vor allem das vielfältige Angebot auf den Märkten und die chinesische Arbeitsweise haben mich begeistert.

Victors Gourmetrestaurant

Sous Chef bei 3 Sternekoch Christian Bau

Juli 2010 bis August 2012

Von einem seit 25 Jahren erfolgreich tätigen 3 Sternekoch eine Anfrage als Sous Chef zu erhalten, war schon eine tolle Sache für mich. Grund genug, aus Shanghai ins Saarland zu wechseln. Nach über 2 Jahren positiver Erfahrung in Victors Gourmetrestaurant als stellvertretender Küchenchef war es an der Zeit, meine Lehrjahre mit der Ausbildung zum Küchenmeister abzuschließen.

Hotelfachschule Heidelberg

Küchenmeister in 3 Monaten

September bis Dezember 2012

Sehr lernintensiv war meine Zeit in Heidelberg. In kurzer Zeit das maximale an Wissen aufzunehmen war eine große Herausforderung, die ich seit meiner Schulzeit nicht mehr kannte. Was soll ich sagen, es hat geklappt. Nach drei Monaten war ich Küchenmeister :)

Restaurant Dieter Müller, MS Europa

Auf dem Schiff kulinarisch um die Welt

Januar 2013 bis Juli 2013

Als Koch hat man immer den Traum einmal auf einem Schiff zu arbeiten. Und wenn ein Dieter Müller als 3 Sternekochlegende fragt, ihn auf der MS Europa zu vertreten, überlegt man nicht lange und nutzt die Chance auf höchstem Niveau arbeiten und die Welt erkunden zu können.

Restaurant OPUS V

engelhorn Mode im Quadrat

August 2013 bis heute

Nach acht Jahren in der 3 Sternegastronomie empfahl mich Harald Wohlfahrt dem Geschäftsführer Richard Engelhorn, engelhorn - Mode im Quadrat aus Mannheim, der mir anbot, ein Restaurant der Zukunft zu gestalten, genau nach meinen persönlichen Vorstellungen und Wünschen. Inspirieren ließen wir uns durch das Restaurant Noma in Kopenhagen, das damals drei Jahre in Folge zum besten Restaurant der Welt gekürt wurde. Und schon am 22. November 2013 eröffneten wir das OPUS V. Bereits ein Jahr nach der Eröffnung, im November 2014, erhielten wir den ersten Michelin Stern und 16 Punkte im Gault Millaut. Zwei Jahre später folgte der zweite Stern und 18 Punkte im Gault Millaut.